RSS

Supers.

28 May

One of the most haunting yet thought-provoking questions people ask me is “If you had a superpower, what would it be?” I both hate and love this question. I also want to ask, “Wait, which superpower, as in singular? Or which superhero’s superpowers would I choose?”

If it’s which superhero’s powers would I choose, then it simplifies things. I can answer that pretty much without thinking. (If I think about it, I’ll never decide) I would have Wonder Woman’s powers (without the horrible costume). I could turn invisible, fly, and have super strength–all the things that I would love to have.

Of course, it would also be really cool to have Mystique’s powers–the ability to change into someone else. That would be awesome. Or Storm’s power; change the weather! Or Rogue. Definitely my favorite of the X-Men. She is so completely powerful. It’s awesome.

But if I were made to choose only one power, it would definitely take a little bit longer to think through my options. On one hand, being invisible could come in handy quite often. I would feel like something out of Harry Potter–that probably only makes sense in my brain, though. Flying would also make me feel Potter-esque. Flying would be incredibly handy. If traffic was bad, you could just walk out the front door and zoom around to wherever you needed to go. You could literally get to places “as the crow flies.” That phrase would no longer be dumb and meaningless. Not to mention useless. It would also be nice to have incredible strength. That would come in this next semester, as I’m getting ready to play collegiate jv basketball for my school. It would also help because then I really could threaten to punch people’s lights out–and mean it.

It would also be nice to have the powers that the Fantastic Four have. Johnny, with his superheated flight ability. Whats-her-face, being invisible (I already talked about that). The Thing, super-strength (again, talked about that). Mr. Fantastic, with his weird-o super-stretchy-ness. That is one WEIRD ability, lemme tell ya.

It’s too bad we couldn’t just put all of them together into one superhero.

It would be neat to be one of the Incredibles. You know, from that cheesy cartoon that’s so awesome. To be able to go invisible AND have force-fields. To run super fast, so fast that you walk on water. Frozone is one of my favorites in that movie. I don’t even like cold, but I like his power.

So what power(s) would you have if you had the choice? Maybe one I didn’t even mention here? Maybe one you came up with yourself?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 28, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “Supers.

  1. Farewell Oblivion

    May 28, 2011 at 12:40 pm

    Green Lantern’s ring, by far, even though I don’t like green very much. I could construct anything my mind could imagine!

     
  2. Farewell Oblivion

    May 28, 2011 at 12:41 pm

    Either that or Peter Petrelli’s power from Heroes: a human super-power sponge.

     
  3. mdrothfuss

    May 28, 2011 at 10:55 pm

    I just want the power to fly. I have always wanted this power. Its why I hope the verse that talks about being caught up in the sky is literal; so I get a chance to fly, even if just for a second. Super strength would be nice, but I can get someone to help me lift something. Invisibility is overrated. I have spent too many days and years of my life being invisible to people. So yeah, I desperately want to spread my arms and learn how to glide the sky….

     

Leave a Reply

 
