RSS

Lakeside Sunsets.

04 Jun

I’m going to watch the sunset tonight with two of my very closest bestest friends. I’m pretty darn excited. I haven’t watched the sunset (or sunrise) in so long it’s sad. The beauty of God’s created world needs a few moments every week, don’t you think?

 

Five and a half hours, a serene sunset, and a great movie later, I’m ready for bed. We went out to the lake near my house and sat on the dock to watch the sun set. It was pretty great–no spectacular, but about as calming and happy as you can get on a hot day in Oklahoma. The place we picked for out little meeting was quite pleasant–until our party was broken up by two very stoned guys who decided to swim in the lake, right next to the ‘swimming is prohibited’ sign. Typical. About as hick as you can get, these two potheads were at the same time apparently going for the ‘hip’ look; pants down to their knees (NOT kidding), flat-billed caps, bling, all that jazz. You know you’re from Oklahoma when…

Then we to my friends house and watched 500 Days of Summer. If you have not seen this movie, go get it. Warning, however; there’s some language and innuendo. So be careful. It’s a great movie, though. It’s not at all what you expect, in some ways happier and in some ways very much more sad. It’s sort of and indie film–I think it was one of those film festival winner things. Whatever those are. Sundance or something like that? I’m not sure.

So tomorrow/today/yesterday/this weekend is Sunfest here in Oklahoma. I really don’t know why I get so excited for Sunfest; it’s the same thing every single year. It’s kind of boring, it never changes, and it’s always hot. And yet, every year about this time, I go to Sunfest. Don’t know why. I’m drawn to it for some reason. Tomorrow I’m going with my family plus a couple kids. It should be fun to see it through their eyes–hopefully it’ll be a little more exciting. 😉

Tomorrow night is going to be awesome. I’m going to Tulsa with several of my good friends to have a pre-birthday dinner bash. It should be great; the restaurant I picked is one of my favorites, and the friends that are coming are great. Surprisingly, every single person I asked said they could come! The only person who can’t come is Ma’ysti, who is still way too far away in Kansas. I MESS YOU, ya hear?!

Gosh, I’m gonna be TWENTY soon. I feel so stinkin’ old.

Sad, huh?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 4, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Lakeside Sunsets.

  1. mdrothfuss

    June 4, 2011 at 11:44 pm

    I mess you too! Sorry I couldn’t be there tonight, but we will talk like on the phone so I can hear your voice real soon!

     

Leave a Reply

 
