RSS

Sleeping In, Starbucks, and Sandals.

13 Jun

Hello from Ft. Worth!

First of all, Kelly wants it made known that she does not, in fact, like Dancing With the Stars. That show is for lame people, she says. She likes So You Think You Can Dance. Alright. Moving along.

This summer is going to be such a great experience. I’m expecting that if I’m not a ton smarter at the end of the summer, I’ll at least be a bit wiser, and I will have made two great friends–hopefully for life, as cliché as that sounds, I really honestly believe that I will be making lasting friends this summer.

I’m also growing closer to Christ, which is absolutely amazing. At the end of the summer, I will have gone to numerous churches, talked to a plethora of people, and seen so many different things. Through all of that, I hope to see God at work in both myself and those around me. I hope God calls people as he’s called me to do what needs to be done, to get the word out, to talk about these important, sometimes ignored, issues.

Now a lighter side:

Today is going to be an ‘off’ day. We slept in (for me, not a whole lot of the ‘in’ part, but some good sleep). Here we are at Starbucks, and *giggles* our team has a mascot now. I’m not going to tell you what it is–or what it’s name is–until I get a picture of the team with it. Then you’ll probably get to see all three of us, plus Nigel, and possibly Mrs. Sheila Fairfax (the van). [Did I mention that Mrs. Fairfax and Nigel are completely, utterly, entirely in love? Cause they are, and all of know it. Except possibly them.]

Anyways, we were thinking about going to the zoo today, which I mentioned earlier, but our plans will change with the weather, and today it is HOT. Seriously, we walked out the door this morning and were smacked in the face with a humid, heavy heat. Probably low 90’s or around there somewhere, and it’s only 11. Ho boy.

I finally bought the rest of Christina Perri’s Lovestrong.album. I tried to use this gift card I got for my birthday, but…I don’t think it worked. I don’t know what the deal is. Anybody have some tips on how to actually use an iTunes gift card? Cause I’m stumped.

Ooh! I got on eBay yesterday (when I was writing my last post. Yes, I multi-task) and found a pair of awesome-sauce Chaco sandals. I bid, and lo and behold, I won the bid–first time EVER. Not kidding. So I payed for them–less than half the price of brand-new, from-the-original-store shoes. Win, yes. They should be at my house either the day we get back or within a couple days of that. Excitement.

I plan to buy some TOM’s soon, but I need to wait until I get a few more buckaroos in my bank account. In other words, I need to be paid first. Hopefully that’ll happen soon. I wonder if my mom took in that paperwork I asked her to…oh well. If she didn’t, I’ll do it when I get back. Wednesday! Yayayay! And then we leave for another couple/few/five weeks. During those couple/few/five weeks, we’ll be travelling all over the country–west of the Mississippi. California, Oregon, South Dakota, Kansas, Missouri, etcetera, etcetera. We might even be stopping in Las Vegas (don’t tell my mom, hehe). This is going to be a great, long, short, awesome, hard, fun summer, and I can’t wait to get going and see what God brings my way. I would appreciate prayer this summer.

Well, off to the next great adventure.

As Skyler would say, “How excited am I?!?!”

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 13, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
