RSS

Wedding Bells…[not mine]…

18 Jun

What song would you pick for your wedding song? You know, the one you and your husband or wife dance to at the reception. Would it be something up-beat and romantic? Something soft and slow? Michael Buble? Frank Sinatra? Miles Davis? Lyrics? No lyrics? Funny? Sad?

Would you sing to the song while you’re dancing? Would you be able to dance at all? What would you talk about?

Take a minute or so to think about this, and then post a comment. Try to limit the comment to a minute or two of writing; fit everything in that time space of writing. I know it’s difficult sometimes to write something in such a short time, but I think it’s a good tool for a writer to learn.

My dad just came over and read a little bit of this. He said he sure doesn’t know what he’d pick, but it would probably be something like “Batman Returns” or something. That’s a song? Huh. Oh well.

I’m not going to tell you what mine would be. Most of the reasoning behind that is that I have no idea. At all. I know that I would have to put a lot of thinking into that. And I would probably want to take some dancing lessons. Maybe I’d learn the tango or salsa or cha-cha for that. Who knows? I could learn to flaminco! Haha…that’ll happen.

Where would you have your wedding? Indoors? Outdoors? In a different country? Here in the States? In your hometown? In a church or no? Who would be the pastor/minister/etc for the wedding?

Where would you go on your honeymoon?

These are a lot of questions, I know, but I just watched a couple of my very best friends get married. It was wonderful, and they’re perfect, and the wedding was great (although hot, since it was outside in upper 90’s/100’s weather).

Those are all questions that run through my mind when I watch wedding. Or even movies that have weddings in them. Or, you know, anything like that. It’s pretty weird how fast my mind comes up with questions like these.

Have fun writing your answers/thinking about them. I look forward to finding out that little bit more about you.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on June 18, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

6 responses to “Wedding Bells…[not mine]…

  1. Farewell Oblivion

    June 18, 2011 at 9:53 pm

    Batman Returns? I’d go with that too.

    Ideally, outdoors on a fall day in the city (maybe not Tulsa but the wife gets a say too so that may change). That way we could ride the limo in the evening with the top down and marvel at the city lights. Definitely having dancing at the reception. Would probably dance to Michael Buble’s versions of “That’s All”,”You and I”, and “The Way You Look Tonight.” Maybe even “Come Fly With Me.” However, there’s also an instrumental song by Michael Whalen called “I Have Loved You For A Thousand Lifetimes” that would be ridiculously beautiful. However, Newsboy’s “Something Beautiful” would be a nice dance number. “Honey and the Bee” by Owl City would be sure to shake things up. Ireland for the honeymoon, but it would depend on the wife’s preference too.

     
  2. mdrothfuss

    June 19, 2011 at 7:56 pm

    The song, I don’t know about because that would have to be something I decide with my future husband, but it would definitely be something slow that I could just look into his eyes and be mesmerized and something meaningful. Honestly I would love to have my wedding in the church my daddy pastored when I was little. However I have also thought about doing an outside wedding. It probably will not be in Colby though. I don’t think I really have a choice in the matter of who dose my wedding, but I wouldn’t have anyone besides my daddy do it. For the honeymoon I would love to go overseas somewhere (probably Europe), but unless I plan on marrying someone rich I will probably end up in a secluded spot in the Rocky Mountains of Colorado. However that wouldn’t be so bad since honestly I think I might be too busy to go site seeing anyway… *wink wink*

     
    • Farewell Oblivion

      June 20, 2011 at 4:48 pm

      Ew……..

       
      • mdrothfuss

        June 20, 2011 at 7:38 pm

        AW come on you have got to admit that you have at least thought about it once or twice. Then again the only reason I have is because my older sister brought up that very good point at some time or another…she likes to make things awkward.

         
  3. Farewell Oblivion

    June 23, 2011 at 5:36 pm

    Even if I did, I wouldn’t say! I’d be out doing fun things with my beloved!

     
    • mdrothfuss

      June 24, 2011 at 10:34 pm

      ok. ok. the only reason I brought it up is its the only way I can keep from being disappointed when I think about the fact that I probably won’t be able to afford my dream honeymoon.

       

Leave a Reply

 
