RSS

Grimy in Kansas?

24 Jun

Hello, Kansas!

Hello, Castle Rock!

Hello…Quinter?

That’s right, small town Kansas. It’s actually kind of refreshing; this may be the smallest town we stop in until the end of the summer. Actually, longer, because OWU’s ‘college town’ is still bigger than this place. By a lot.

We’re at Skyler’s house, and his parents are great. Tonight they made us the best steak and sweet potatoes. It was delish. Oh my word, not even kidding. Kelly and I also had two blizzards from DQ in the past five hours….yeah, we like ice cream. And we’re getting more tomorrow.

By the way, Mysti, I’m bringing the story by tomorrow morning. I’ll text you when I’m a little ways away. 😛

For those of you who don’t know, Mysti, Jeff, Laura and I all have this ‘story circle’ thing going on. So far, we’re about…thirty something handwritten pages in. This last rotation was the last time I’ll be able to get a handwritten copy in; from here on out, it’s all e-mail. Sadly, this kind of ruins our ‘system.’ We were aiming to do the entire story in hand-written, snail-mail papers. We were doing good until I landed this job–which is not a complaint at all. I’m just sad that we won’t be able to do snail-mail since I’ll be moving too quickly.

In the fall, though, Jeff and Mysti will be back two weeks early to do some boot-camp type stuff for student mentoring. I’ll be in town, and Laura lives about two minutes from the school. Which is handy when we’re passing the whole story around; postage starts getting expensive when your ‘manuscript’ gets over a pound. hehe

Tomorrow sometime we leave for South Dakota. We’ll be driving through Colorado, apparently; I’m pumped. Then we’ll be going to Salt Lake City and then to San Diego. If you guys don’t know every detail of my schedule by the end of the summer, I will be amazed. Very. Amazed.

I can’t wait to get this show on the road! Hopefully there will be some good stops…so that we can do a load of laundry, get a shower, and not be grimy the whole summer. 😀

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 24, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Grimy in Kansas?

  1. Farewell Oblivion

    June 24, 2011 at 10:02 pm

    Boot-camp, indeed 🙂 Luckily, our system was amended to keep us from mailing a brick!

     

Leave a Reply

 
