RSS

Malls, Movies, and…Voodoo?

14 Jul

Converse.

Sound exciting? To me, it definitely does.

Picture this; red high top converse with baby blue laces in an awesome-sauce pattern. Can you see it? Those are my shoes. I’m thinking about keeping one of the shoes blue and putting brown laces in the other. What do you think?

I think it sounds Fantastic. With a capital F. That’s right. That good.

Anyway. Kelly’s little town has one of the best outlet malls in the country. There are always people coming–there’s even a tour bus stop just for people to come here before they head off to Multnomah Falls–which is, coincidentally, cooler than the mall. It’s nature. You can’t get much better than that.

Multnomah Falls is a really famous waterfall and hiking area. Kelly, Skyler, Joel H., and Kelly’s friend Jessica hiked to the top of the falls–which is a long, long way up. They were, to say the least, a little sore. It’s apparently all switchbacks on the way up, and the way down is brutal and steep. I didn’t hike it, since it was only the second time in my life that I’ve been hiking, and since I was a little bit sick, and since I kind of have this disease that makes breathing a little hard sometimes. And since I’m a tiny bit of a wimp. 😀

So it’s been more than a month…I think…since I handed off the story to Mysti in Kansas. Hopefully, it’s made a full circle. *ahem* I’m really excited about where it’s headed. Everyone look for a best-selling novel sometime in the next two years! Haha. Wouldn’t that be awesome?

Tomorrow, we head off for Colorado to spend a couple days in Denver with Kelly’s sister, Kim. We’ll be speaking at a couple churches [yes, two in a day] and possibly having lunch with my grandparents [!!!] before we head back to Skyler’s house for the night. From there, we hit the Kansas and then the Missouri conferences…and then we’re done. We’re estimated to get back into the ville on the 24th or thereabouts. I honestly can’t wait to be home. As much as I love this, I’m ready for a little bit of a break. I’m ready to sleep in…and maybe even go to bed a little earlier.

Speaking of going to bed earlier…last night my friend Amanda [@aechoin] took me to this place in downtown Portland called “Voodoo Doughnuts.” It was a little bit sketch, but it was really neat. I ate a grape-iced doughnut. How weird is that? The best part is that it was good–in a weird, what-am-I-putting-in-my-mouth kind of way. We also ended up with a bubble-gum icing doughnut, a maple one, a butterfinger one, and one that was supposed to be marshmallow and m&m’s, but tasted more like chocolate than marshmallow. Which was okay with me, but I only just tried a little bit. They had some interesting stuff there, let me tell you. We were in line for a loooong time and didn’t get back until about 12.30…

…and tonight we’re staying up super late to go see…guess what?

HARRY POTTER AND THE DEATHLY HALLOWS PART 2 at 12.41!!!

That means we’ll be at the theater until about three a.m…and we won’t get back until about 3.30 or four. And then we’re getting up and leaving for Colorado at ten in the morning. Ha. We really planned ahead on this one. 😉

So I’m gonna go stand in line for a movie now. For more than four hours.

That’s right. We’re fans.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 14, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Malls, Movies, and…Voodoo?

  1. suchmeagerinsight

    July 16, 2011 at 9:19 pm

    Multnomah Falls!! I’ve been there, and it is wonderful! I’m glad you got to see it. And Harry Potter. Truly, it was fabulous. No midnight show for me (early mornings + no car = just not happening), but it was still wonderful (except for the people behind us – they thought the end was hilarious). I can’t wait to see you soon!!

     
  2. waitingondarcy

    July 16, 2011 at 11:00 pm

    The end WAS hilarious, though! They all looked so funny. Only Hermione…she didn’t change at all, though. Ron was soooo funny-looking. 😛 It was pretty good, though.

     

Leave a Reply

 
