RSS

Our Last Leg(s).

23 Jul

In approximately 30 hours, I will be home, sweet home. To celebrate, my mom is making me roast beast with mashed taters and gravy. NOM.

I think I’ll pull a Rip Van Winkle and sleep for about forty years. How’s that sound? Good? Good.

Last night we carpooled with JoAnne Lyon, the general superintendent of the Wesleyan church, from McPherson, Kansas to Jefferson City [or “Jeff City”], Missouri. We got to our hotel at about midnight, slept for less than six hours, then got up and chugged another hour to Osage Beach, Missouri, where we’re staying tonight. The conference is in this fancy resort [Tan Tara], but we’re not staying here. We’re just here for the face-time, as they say.

We set up the display for the last time this morning; kind of bittersweet, I gotta admit. We’re pros at setting that sucker up now. It looks a little bit better and a little bit worse every time we set it up. Better because we’re figuring out just how to set it up, worse because it’s a little road-ravaged. As all we are…

Not to mention maybe a little bit sleep-deprived, slightly stressed, and dragging our feet…each of us a little more of one and less of the others. I’m more of a sleep-deprived zombie and dragging my feet…and yet super anxious to leave. If we could get out of here today, I would probably be willing to drive the whole way [I have no idea how far it is to the ville]. I want to see my family and my friends before school starts up again in about three weeks–I know, right?–and catch up on a little sleep, too. That would be nice.

We’ve gotten to the point where we don’t hardly bother asking where the others want to eat anymore. We just drive, see a fast-food place, and say, “Is this good?” If someone says no, well, that’s too darn bad. Guess they’ll starve. And hey…they can at least get something to drink there, right? Right. We’re pretty much a grinding, well-oiled machine, especially when it comes to setting up, tearing down, and packing the back of that stinkin’ van [speaking of which, only one more loading!!]. Good gravy, we’re getting efficient. Too bad we’re done just as we reach perfection. Funny funny.

So I’ve been trying to ‘keep up’ with SYTYCD, and I’ve found out who’s been eliminated since we were in Denver. I’m happy to say that all of my favorites are in the finals, along with a couple who aren’t, in my opinion, all that fantabulous.

Since I’ve been thinking about dance so much, I’ve decided that I may do something that I’ve been thinking about but not acting on for a few years; I’m going to scour the ville for a place that teaches hip hop dance–or anything like it. If I find one, and it’s not too pricey, I think I’m going to start taking dance lessons. Sound weird? What do you think? Should I do it?

I also decided not to play basketball in the fall. I’ve been praying about it a lot, and I just decided it wasn’t what I need to do. I think, with basketball in the mix, I kind of over-pledged myself. I was stretching too thin, and I haven’t even started school yet. So, instead of playing, I think I’ll look for a job [part time, not in food prep] and then just try to keep up with that and school [which may be getting an extra class added to my schedule]. That should keep me busy. Adding a dance class to that would make it crazy, and that’s just the way I like thing; crazy, but not too exhausting and not too entirely impossible.

Well, I’m gonna go look up stuff to do in Lake of the Ozarks. Hopefully, we’ll find something awesome and cheap to do!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 23, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Our Last Leg(s).

  1. suchmeagerinsight

    July 24, 2011 at 11:24 pm

    Go to Inspirations. I don’t know anything about their hip hop classes, but their other classes are wonderful. Oh, and if you were wanting me to teach you any hip hop, that is a no-can-do. Seriously, I am just not that skilled. Anything else, though, I will gladly teach you!

    I must say, it is kind of sad that you won’t be playing basketball next year, but now I won’t feel obliged to go to the games. That is definitely nice. ;D

    I can’t wait to see you!

     

Leave a Reply

 
