RSS

Hurry Up and Wait.

14 Oct

So for the past couple years, I’ve been getting emails from Air1, the Christian radio station. They’re daily emails and all they contain is a single Bible verse. Usually, I open them, read the message, and think about how often I’ve heard that phrase. Then I go on with life.

Today, though, I got this verse:

Be still in the presence of the Lord, and wait patiently for Him to act. Psalms 37:7

Do I even need to say how impactful this verse was for me? Do I need to tell you how much I have been struggling with patience all of my life, and especially the last couple years? Do I need to number the times I’ve shaken my fist at God and said, “Let’s go, God, I’m not getting any younger, and I need this” ?

I don’t think I do.

Do I need to fall to my knees and give it all? Do I need to show everyone around me love like His? Do I need to be thankful for what I have instead of wishing for more?

I think I do.

I heard on the radio today–not on Air1, surprisingly, but on The House–this phrase. I can’t remember who said it, but it struck me so completely;

Quit thinking about the “If I had ____, then I’d be ___” and instead focus on being happy with what you have. Don’t say, “If I had this, then I’d be happy,” or, “If I had that, I’d be content.” You’ll never be happy that way.

Wow. Okay, God, I get the message…I think hearing something like that so often right when I need it is fantastic. I may not be able to hear God and feel His push on me 24/7, but I definitely heard this one. Loud and clear.

God, how awesome you are. How incredible is your love for me! I’m so blessed, just the way I am. I will wait patiently. I will stop thinking about what I don’t have and how if only I had it I’d be happy. I’ll start waiting on you to give me what I need when I need it, whenever that may be, and I’ll start living with happiness–not just joy–because You are Lord.

Thank you so much, God.

So. If this applies to you, I advise you to soak it in. I advise you to pray about it. I advise you to live it.

I know I’m going to do my best.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 14, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
