RSS

Strength.

07 Feb

You know how everything in your life seems to be connected? Maybe this is just a girl thing–the whole globalizing thing [and the only thing I actually learned from Intro to Communication], but it seems like this always happens: When one thing goes out of control, every other aspect of my life/week spins down as well. Anytime one thing goes wrong, everything else does, too.

Aggravating, no?

Here’s the thing: This has happened to me before, and I’ve freaked out and gotten mad and all the typical [normal] reactions.

This time, I’m still getting frustrated and everything, but instead of lashing out or getting mad at others or anything like that, I’ve learned a valuable lesson.

If the people around me who are dealing with similar things can deal with it and still rely on God and trust Him more than before, why can’t I, right? So I do.

Everything at the feet of Jesus.

The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want. He makes me lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside the still waters. He restores my soul; He leads me in the paths of righteousness for His name’s sake. Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil; for You are with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me. You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies; You anoint my head with oil; My cup runs over. Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life; and I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.

The Lord is my shepherd. That’s kind of become my motto these past couple weeks. I seriously have had this Psalm [23] stuck in my head for a long time–and I’m really glad it’s been stuck there. That is such an encouraging passage!

So even when all I want to do it blow up and lash out and react, I just remember; The Lord gives me strength. He will not tempt me beyond what I am able; He will not give me more than I can handle. He’s my strength, and through Him I can weather any storm and brave any tempest.

So here’s the deal. I don’t know if you guys listen to Air1 or The House [Christian radio stations], but I do fairly often. A couple weeks ago [I might have mentioned this before], they started this thing called the “Surprise Me, God” challenge or something like that. Basically, you just pray “Surprise me, God,” every day. God has this way of doing the unexpected and surprising us. There’s nothing mystical or fantastical about saying those three words–the true point is that you leave it all up to God, not relying on your own strength or your own abilities.

The point is to let God do His awesome work in your life. If you have your mind open to God and His wonder, great things will happen. Seriously–how could I be this peaceful with everything going on without His strength in me?

So I’m doing the Surprise Me, God challenge. Let’s all do it together and watch God move in great and mysterious ways!

Surprise us, God.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 7, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
