RSS

Arms.

10 Feb

You know what kind of blows me away?

Humanity in general.

Think about it. We spend our entire life looking for something or someone to lean on. We run around in circles until we drop dead.

Our great God is watching us, probably sighing and shaking His head. He’s holding His arms open the whole time, but we’re too busy running around like chickens with our heads cut off to notice or care. [I’m pretty sure God showed humanity what a chicken with its head cut off looked like because it looks like us…] We get so tired and we complain that we can’t stop when, in reality, if we ever fall, He’s right there waiting for us to go to Him.

We’re running around in circles and all we need to do is stop and fall into His arms.

The past two weeks have been some of the most stressful of my life to date, and yet I feel more peaceful and content that I think I ever have before. How is that even possible, you ask? Simple.

A friend pointed me to Proverbs 16:9, which says, The heart of man plans his way, but the LORD establishes his steps.

So here’s what I get out of that: No matter what I plan to do or which direction I think my life is headed, I don’t know. I don’t need to worry about it, though. God has ‘established my steps,’ and I am confident that His plan for me is far and away better than any plans I have made.

Here’s another verse that I found incredibly encouraging:

Psalms 63:5-7 My soul will be satisfied as with fat and rich food, and my mouth will praise you with joyful lips, when I remember you upon my bed, and meditate on you in the watches of the night; for you have been my help, and in the shadow of your wings I will sing for joy.

The courage God gives is better than any I could muster myself. I’m so encouraged and peaceful this week, despite everything that’s going on in my life–and I thank God daily for that peace.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 10, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
