RSS

Count Your Blessings.

12 Feb

What are the top five blessings in your life at this moment?

This is kind of a loaded question for most people. Seriously, a lot of people think more about what’s not going right in their lives instead of what is going right. Lately, I’ve heard this kind of thing a lot: “Don’t think about what’s going wrong in your life or what you regret. Instead, think about what’s going right and what God has given you.”

How true is that statement? Don’t think about what you can’t help and can’t change. Think about the amazing things God has given, and don’t worry about tomorrow.

Oh, I said it. Do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. That’s practically taboo in college, isn’t it? When you’re planning your summer job, where you’ll be, what you’re going to do when or if you’re not working, etc… It’s a freaky thought any way you look at it, really. But here’s the dealio: God has it. He’s got His wonderful hands of peace all over that mess, and He’s setting it all in order, exactly the way it’s supposed to be. No card is out of place in this deck; nothing is left to chance; there’s no ‘luck of the draw’ in this marvelous ‘game’ we play. God has it all dealt exactly the way it needs to be.

Okay, so when I ask for the top five blessings in your life, I really want an answer. Tell me in person. Comment below. Tweet me [@flowersilky], one blessing at a time. Anything.

Here are the things I consider the five most amazing blessings in my life right now.

1. My Family. Lately, I’ve been going through a lot. My family knows everything that’s going on in my life. I’ve often thought of my mom as my absolute best friend. I tell her everything. We go out once a week for what we call ‘not-coffee’ [since she doesn’t drink coffee]. We talk about anything and everything for an hour and a half. I wake up earlier than I do any other day just so I can see her. My dad comes to lunch with me when we both have that hour open. We talk, we sit, we be each other. That’s such an amazing thing to be able to do with my dad. I’m a daddy’s girl, it’s true. [This means guys have a lot to live up to.] Without my family, their support, and the utter envelopment of love they provide, I wouldn’t be me.

2. My Friends. I have some of THE most amazing friends. Laura and I were working together Friday night and [without saying exactly what we were talking about] the thought that I might not have her forever popped into my head. At first, I waved it away. Within about three seconds, however, I was in tears. I was a serious wreck, and she hadn’t even said anything like ‘I’m dying’ or ‘I’m moving.’ Nothing. I just lost it. I cannot imagine my life without her, and even now, just thinking about that is making me cry. Don’t you ever leave me, got it, Laura? Earlier that same day, I had been hanging out with several of my other close friends, including Alicat. Thinking about losing Laura made me think farther. Ali, seriously. Never. I love you guys way too much. You [and several others] know too much about me, I love you too much, and you keep me sane [and happy]. I can’t live without you guys. I have the best circle of friends in the whole wide world.

3. Financial and Physical Ability. In case you didn’t know this, which…I’m not sure how you can not…I’m going to Italy in March. Weird. I honestly never thought that would happen…at least, not while I was in college. I have been working hard, though, and I’m finally going–and paying for the entire trip myself. That in itself is a miracle, considering how bad I am [or rather, used to be] with money. A goal like this really changes someone like me, I’ve found. The very fact that I’m physically able to go, too, is amazing. Not that I shouldn’t be physically able, but…just that I can and now the fact that I will astounds me. I’m so thankful for the opportunity.

4. Jobs. Yes, I work two jobs. Yes, I’m sick of it and I want to quit one and be a normal college student. No, I have no idea what it’s like to not work in college…and yes, I would do it all again. I know that right now, having a job is a blessing in every way. This job is enabling me to travel, to eat out every [rare] once in a while, and to do things with friends. These two jobs I have are amazing. I don’t know how I managed to get them both–best jobs I’ve ever had, seriously–and I would keep them both if I had the ability. Maybe I do, who knows, but I’m just glad I have them and have that steady, reliable source of income.

5. A Wonderful School. I know I complain about my school a lot. There are definitely some imperfect things about it, things I would change in a heartbeat were I given that option…but there are some things about this school that I absolutely love. This year’s theme is Intentional Community, in case you don’t go here, and I think it’s the best one we’ve had since I started here. Community is what got me here, and what kept my freshman year so amazing. Intentional Community is why I want to be an RA–so I can show other girls that same community and sense of belonging that I felt [and still feel]. Have you ever walked into a cafeteria or a class or church and felt completely and totally lost? You don’t know where to sit, who to talk to, or what to do. That’s how college is on day one. But here, you stand staring like a deer in the headlights long enough, and someone will wave you over. They want you there, and here, I feel that. I feel liked, wanted. I feel so confident here. I can say hi to anyone and everyone, because I know almost everyone. I can smile and look people in the eye. One of my favorite things? I can walk to class without my head down. I can look people in the eyes and smile and know that they’ll smile back, even if they don’t know who I am.

I am so blessed by what God has given me. You are, too. What has God blessed you with?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 12, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
