RSS

“Real” World Problems.

15 May

I don’t know how many of you readers are Coldplay fans, but I definitely am. I love their sound and their lyrics are brilliant and, in my opinion, extremely clever and applicable. One of my favorite songs by them includes the line, “Nobody said it was easy; no one ever said it would be so hard.”

I always thought this line was genius. I could use it in almost every circumstance, and I love the simplicity of it.

Every time I encounter something hard that once seemed easy, I apply this line to it.

Being an ‘adult’ is no different. When I was little, being an adult looked so easy. You get money and you spend it and you make meals and you go to work occasionally. Easy, right?

Wrong. I may have only graduated from college a few days ago, I may still be living with my parents, and so on. But being in the real world at all is difficult and I’m starting to rethink everything I’ve wanted or currently need out of life. Do I really want to live by myself right now? Do I really want a full-time job there or should I keep looking? Do I need this or should I be looking for that?

One of the biggest questions for me right now is, what do I do with the rest of my life?

That’s kind of a loaded question, particularly for me. If you know me at all, you know I’ve never had a job for more than two years, I’m a bit of a free spirit, I love travel, I get restless really quickly, and I don’t want to live in one place the rest of my life. So finding a job that will allow me to do the things I want is something I’m struggling with a lot right now.

I’m actually considering taking a teaching position at my old school, maybe teaching seventh grade or something of that nature.

Again, if you know me, the fact that I’m considering teaching is huge. All the way through college, I swore up and down that I would never teach. I don’t have the patience, I don’t want to deal with kids all day every day, I don’t want to dedicate my entire life to something like that.

More and more lately, teaching is looking like a wonderful idea. I might go turn in my resume or something.

I just don’t know what to do or where to go right now…

Directionless wandering. That’s my plan.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 15, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to ““Real” World Problems.

  1. J. R. Telfer

    May 15, 2013 at 5:59 pm

    At the Passion Conference this year, I heard this from a former NCAA Division I QB.

    It is easy to ask, “God, what do you want me to do with my life?” When the better question is “God, what do you want me to do today?”

    God has amazing plans for you… today. Tomorrow will be here soon enough. Deal with it then. : )

     
  2. J.M. Goss

    May 15, 2013 at 6:05 pm

    “Not all those who wander are lost.” J.R.R. Tolkien.

     
  3. ADes

    May 15, 2013 at 6:36 pm

    Wise words from a Mr. Telfer. I would listen to him, he seems like he is “the best” at stuff like this.

     

Leave a Reply

 
