RSS

Hunger Games Tag.

19 Jun

So, as you may know, I love the Hunger Games books. I love them all. I am one of three people I know who actually liked the ending of the third book.

This would be a good time to tell you that, if you haven’t read the last book [or any of them, for that matter], this blog post will have some spoilers. So, if you plan on reading the books and don’t want the entire plot ruined, I would suggest returning to your Twitter patrolling. Or whatever.

Anyway, I know that The Hunger Games books weren’t on my essential summer reading list, but I did want to let you know that I think they’re pretty great reading. They’re kind of in the same vein as 1984 and Lord of the Flies, with a dash or futuristic dystopia. They’re really fast reads and there’s a movie series so if you get bored with the books, there’s your lame-o backup plan.

Books are better.

So I found this Hunger Games tag originally on YouTube and wanted to write my answers out ]somewhat for myself].

1. What is your favorite book in The Hunger Games trilogy? I would have to say the first book is my favorite. It does an excellent job introducing the characters and portraying Katniss’s inner thoughts. The writing style is weird, though, and that does take some getting used to, but the first book does a good job of showing that it’s more of a personal, train-of-thought type of writing than narrative anything.

2. How long would you last in the Hunger Games? I know this sounds weird, but if I got picked for the Hunger Games, I would want to die as soon as possible. The prospect of starving slowly or of being paranoid is really not appealing at all. I’d want to die quickly. I’d probably just stand around at the Cornucopia at the beginning of the games and wait for someone to kill me. There’s no way I’d win, so might as well get it over with.

3. What’s the strangest thing you thought was going to happen in the books (but didn’t)? I seriously thought that Peeta was going to kill Katniss. In the third book, when they finally catch up to Peeta again but he’s all crazed and reconditioned by the Capitol, I seriously thought he was going to murder an entire room of people. I also thought Finnick and Johanna were going to fall in love, but then the whole Annie thing came up and blew that theory out of the water.

4. How were you introduced to The Hunger GamesWhen I first heard about the books, I thought they sounded stupid and gross. Then I went to the bookstore we *used* to have in my town and the lady there [who knew me by name; I was there A LOT] suggested the books. She knew my reading taste was pretty all over the place, and that one fit right in. I owe her one.

5. Favorite moment that happens in The Hunger GamesAnnie and Finnick. Need I say more? If I do, then go watch this video right here.

6. Who is your favorite character? This question really depends on which book I’m reading. In the first book, my favorite character is Cato. I know, I know, the crazy son-of-a-turd who kills ruthlessly and carelessly. But listen. At the end, when Cato is being ripped apart by the mutts, he begs for help. His character comes full circle and, in the end, I think he shows the most human nature and change. His character is just so real. In the second book, I’d have to say Finnick started stealing my heart. The way he takes care of Maggie is seriously the most touching thing. I think I cried when I read that whole part. In the third book, Peeta and Finnick tie for my affection. Peeta is crazy, of course, but I really feel for him. Finnick is just such a romantic and really one of the most redeeming characters.

7. What district would you live in? District 9. Grain. And yes, it is the least-recognized district. Or 10, livestock. Unfortunate.

8. What was the most emotional moment in the books for you? When Finnick dies, I seriously did cry a little. That and when Annie dies.

9. What item from home would you take into the arena with you as a token? I’d take one of my dad’s guns. Just kidding, I’d probably take a picture my little sister drew for me a while ago. It’s adorable and it’s a perfect representation of her little happy self.

10. What was the most evil plan someone made in the books? There were three of these for me. One was when Prim and the rest of the people helping those caught in the crossfire got bombed. The second would have to be that of the Capitol turning Peeta against the girl he loves. That also takes some serious evil-villain skills. The last and most horrifying was probably when the Peace Keepers beat Cinna as Katniss was being lifted to the arena. She had to watch him die and then adjust to the game so suddenly. Plus Cinna was an amazing character.

11. What are you looking forward to most in the film? The clock layout from Catching Fire should be good. That whole part and them discovering how it worked was great. I’m also looking forward to seeing the actors they cast try to tackle some of pop culture’s favorite characters.

12. Who is your favorite villain in the trilogy? Cato. I already talked about this a little bit before, but he showed some of the greatest depth of character in the entire series. He knew when to let his pride go and beg Katniss and Peeta for mercy and their help, but he put up such an intense front throughout the games. The guy who played him in the first movie did a great job portraying that, in my opinion.

What about you guys? I would love to see your answers to these questions, either in the comments, your own blog, or my Facebook page.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 19, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
