RSS

Internet Addiction?…Yes.

02 Aug

Unemployed.

That’s a word that everyone kind of dreads. Sure, it sounds nice to not have to work. It’s nice to think that you can do whatever you want whenever you want because, let’s face it, you don’t have anywhere to be or anything to really do.

But not having anything to do it boring.

That’s why I’ve turned to the internet and board games and the wonderful world of books.

Now, as you remember, I’ve posted a couple blogs lately about books and games/things to keep boredom at bay. So obviously the only thing left is internet things, right?

Well, and favorite places to hang out, people watch, and write. So let’s go through three awesome websites you probably know about and three places you probably don’t.

First, wonderful places.

  1. Jude’s. I love Jude’s. Here in the ‘ville, Jude’s is a locally-owned coffee house. When I was in college [that’s weird in past tense], I’d go there a lot because it was right down the road from the school. It’s a quiet place for the most part, with the occasional open mic night or noisy lunch group [I’m looking at you, sushi crazies]. The internet is available, of course, but my computer doesn’t like it, so if  I want to write without distraction, that’s the place to be.
  2. Indian Coffee Co. This is a new coffee shop. Actually, it’s where I am right now. It’s awesome in here, too. Big windows, perfect for people-watching, good internet, amazing coffee, and I’ve seen more people I know in here in the last thirty minutes than I do in a day at Walmart [not that I’ve ever spent a day in Walmart. *shudder*].They also have a large table in the middle of the store so people can have business meetings/board game parties [I’m assuming it’s for board games. :D].
  3. McAlister’s. This one may be a little surprising/out of the ordinary, but McAlister’s has very reliable internet access, and the tea is good. Plus, I mean, unlimited refills. Unfortunately, McAlister’s isn’t so good for people-watching, but if you want to eavesdrop, this is the place to go. People are loud in there. [I sound like such a creep now…haha]

And the internet sites you probably know and possibly love.

  1. Pinterest. Oh heavens, I could spend all day on this site. If you’re looking for a project, this is the place to go. People can add ‘pins’ which you can ‘repin’ that have external links to pictures, Do-It-Yourself projects, recipes, and a billion other things. Inspiration abounds on this site. It’s super duper distracting.
  2. Sidereel. If you’re a t.v. show fanatic, like I am, you probably have realized at some point or another that if you’re more than two episodes behind in a show that is currently on television, it’s almost impossible to catch up with the show and then keep up. Once you’re behind, you’re lost. But. I found this site. It’s amazing. Simply do a search engine search [I’d say Google, but some crazy people like Bing or Yahoo. Weirdos.] for whatever TV show and season you’re looking for and add the word ‘sidereel’ to the search. Usually, the first or second result is what you’re looking for. The site has a list of seasons and episodes with external links. Now, you do have to be a bit picky when it comes to actually choosing a link to watch your show on, but most are fairly reliable. I’ve watched a lot of shows this way.
  3. YouTube. Yes, I know, everyone knows what YouTube is. But this site has everything you could ask fir. I spend a good chunk of time on YouTube every week. I follow several people. I’ve found shows like Video Game High School [seriously amazing; check it out starting with season one here], Job Hunters [here], and so much more. I love YouTube and there are so many creative people who make and post videos.

Well, there you go. Now you know a little more about my hobbies [and my level of creepiness]. I hope you’ve learned something [and I hope it’s not to avoid me…I like my friends…]

Have fun with that…

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 2, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
