RSS

Job Hunters.

12 Aug

Well, it’s week two of unemployment, and I think I’ve crossed from ‘stir crazy’ to ‘just crazy’.

A tiny bit grumpy, too, but thanks to coffee, that’s wearing off a bit. Seriously, I don’t know what I’d do in a world without caffeine. If I had to go back in time, I’d probably end up being some rough-n-tough cowboy chewing coffee beans in the Old West. That or I’d be the most hyper monk/nun living on a coffee plantation there ever was. (<-is that even a thing? I think it should be…)

Anyways. So last week I had two interviews and so far I haven’t heard from either of them. I guess it takes a while to pick an employee and everything, but really, I just want them to call. Even if it’s a ‘hey, you didn’t get the job” call, I just want to know. I want to know if I need to start reapplying and mass emailing my resume [just kidding, I don’t do that] or if I should, you know, come in and start working.

When you interview, people always say, “Alright, we’ll let you know by the end of this week or early next week,” and then you don’t hear anything for two weeks, at which point you learned they hired the very next person they interviewed after you and just didn’t bother informing anyone. [that’s only happened once but I’m always expecting it]

So about this time, I’m beginning to realize that interviews in ‘the real world’ are all about making yourself sound better than you may actually be. You really have to sell yourself to the people you’re talking to if you want the job. And here’s the thing about that; I don’t like doing it. Sure, I can–I mean, I’ve written a cover letter, so I know how to make myself sound like a pompous know-it-all, but I like people to know that I don’t actually know everything, but that I’m willing to learn.

And people don’t typically like that.

So I’ve been comparing the world to this YouTube miniseries I found a while back. It’s called Job Hunters, and it’s a six-episode season wherein all the characters are put into a Hunger-Games-esque arena to duke it out. They’re in there from 9-5, like a normal workday, and then get the rest of the day off. They’re offered jobs based on their skills and prowess in the arena–and at the end of the season [SPOILER] none of them have received job offers yet. This is how I feel.

I’m basically putting my life [or future] at risk by going out every day and looking for a job. I’m putting so much effort into it and then getting so completely stressed because I don’t hear anything back that I’m about to the point of having a mental breakdown.

If you want to watch this awesome show, I’ve included the link here to the first episode. Season two is supposed to be coming out shortly, and you can find the rest of season one by clicking on the links at the end of each video or even by going to the profile page of the show.

So I’m going to go battle some more people looking for similar jobs and see if I can make it out of this unemployment world without too many war scars.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 12, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
