RSS

Suggestions.

24 Apr

So it’s that time again, when I suggest some amazing books and you ignore my suggestion and read whatever you feel like.

I’ve read several books so far this month, and I was recently asked by a friend to suggest some books for the summer/breaks/weekends.

So here we go. Feel free to 1) visit your library 2) buy from Amazon or 3) completely disregard these suggestions and do whatever you want because let’s be real it’s the internet.

  1.  The Fault in Our Stars – John Green. I know, I’m definitely not a hipster, this book is insanely popular and I read it before the movie came out, blah blah. But don’t judge this book until you read it. Green does an amazing job of brining emotion, humor, and intelligence to something that happens every day—love and death. The book is about a cancer patient and it is terribly sad (I cried) so don’t read it if you’re looking for a spirit-lifter.
  2. Packing Light – Allison Vesterfelt. I’ve mentioned this girl’s blog before, but her book was really what got me interested in her blog. The book is about her quitting her job, packing a car, and taking a 50-state road trip and how it changed her life. The things that she talks about and the lessons she relates are insightful and honest.
  3. Confessions of a Shopaholic – Sophie Kinsella. Oh my goodness guys. I read Kinsella’s Can I Have Your Number? book a while ago and I laughed out loud (which I don’t do often while reading). I love the Shopaholic movie and decided to take the plunge. The book is hilarious and realistic (kind of) and very witty, as the author is British (and British humor is the best). I’d recommend her books any day.
  4. Austenland – Shannon Hale. I haven’t actually read this book yet, but I recently watched the movie and oh heavens was it hysterical. When I found out there was a book you can bet your britches it got added to my list. The story is about a girl who is so obsessed with Jane Austen’s works that she goes to a super expensive 1800’s immersion ‘camp’ and there are so many hilarities I can’t even explain. Watch the movie, read the book, read the movie, watch the book. However you please.
  5. Cinder, Scarlet, Cress – Marissa Meyer. These books are insanely awesome. They’re sci-fi/fantasy young adult, so be warned, but they’re so completely unexpected and such original adaptations of fairy tales that you hardly realized that they are, in fact, fairy tale reinventions—Cinder quite literally. The stories can get a little muddled if you don’t be sure to pay attention to the point of view from chapter to chapter (it changes as the books go on) but if you can keep all the facts straight the way the story comes together is incredible.
  6. Across the Universe – Beth Revis. This series is also very much scifi, but not at all like the movie of the same title (or so I’m told; I haven’t seen the movie). The book revolves around a bunch of people in a spaceship (that’s me trying not to give spoilers…the plot is kind of intricate). It’s a good read for people who wonder about the possibility of colonizing a new planet for human use (even though that’s not the main plot of the book…spoiler alert…).
  7. The Maze Runner – James Dashner. Again, I haven’t actually gotten around to reading this book, but I’ve heard from several sources that it is a quality read. The movie is also coming out soon, so if you want to know the plot, you can watch the trailer and then you’ll be just as confused as I am.
  8. Hope Runs – Claire Diaz-Ortiz. Okay so I haven’t read everything, alright? This book I found out about through a blog post of Allison Vesterfelt’s blog, and it sounds amazing. It’s about Claire’s story of travlling around the world to Africa and then living there. The things touched on in the blog post made me want to pick up the book right then and there. She co-wrote the book with her foster son, Sammy, whom she met while living in Africa.
  9. A Tale of Two Cities – Charles Dickens. I had to throw in a classic here. This book is one of my top three of all time. It’s about the French Revolution and England’s involvement; it’s about love and sacrifice. It has perhaps the most well-known opening sentence in history; It was the best of times, it was the worst of times, it was the… This book is incredible.
  10. When Crickets Cry – Charles Martin. If you can’t guess by the title, this book is sad. I cried reading it, I get sad thinking about it, but it’s one of the most touching and beautifully written books I’ve read. Martin has several other stories that I love as well, but this one really stuck with me. It’s about a heart surgeon who has some depressing skeletons in his closet who tries to help a little girl with heart problems. It’s so good and has some amazing, strong Christian themes in it. Just…have a Kleenex box nearby when you get towards the end of the book. You might need them.

Well, that’s what I got. Be sure to check out my other reading, which can be found here, and let me know what your favorite books are or if you’ve enjoyed any of these books.

–shameless self-promotion alert–

If you feel like it, share this post with your friends, your parents, your sister’s husband’s second cousin once removed, and your friends’ dogs.

Also, you can follow me on Twitter. Check the right-hand bar for my latest Tweets and information.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 24, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “Suggestions.

  1. cdjarmola

    April 24, 2014 at 2:02 pm

    I’ve read #1, #3 and #4. Loved them all. I actually liked Midnight in Austenland better, because it was about an older woman. I’m kind of stalking Shannon Hale right now. Guess she’s my writer crush.

     

Leave a Reply

 
