RSS

Thursday Thimbles.

08 May

Someone once told me that any amount of information you can give to someone, no matter how amazing you think it is, is a thimble of information compared to how much information there is in the world in general. That is to say, what you’re giving them may be important, but it’s not all the information ever. It’s not much more than a couple drops out of an ocean of information.

Since I am going to be sharing some of my favorite corners of the internet with you, I decided this should be called Thimble’s Thursday. (say thimbles three more times and it stops sounding like an actual word)

I am going to give you my favorite blog posts, my favorite YouTube videos, music, and whatever else I happen to find during the week that I think you should see.


1. Lego Pinata Cookies, Rosanna Pinsano. I can’t tell you how badly I want to bake right now. I didn’t know this kind of cookie was possible, but I now have some awesome ideas for pinata cookies. The girl who does this video has a ton of other ‘nerdy nummies’ videos in which she shows how to make some awesomely nerdy treats. I plan to try unicorn poop cookies at some point, too.

2. Welcome to Midnight, TWLOHA. This post was written a couple years ago, but I was going through to To Write Love On Her Arms (TWLOHA) site when I found the shirt that said “Welcome to Midnight.” I was intrigued, did some Google-ing, and found the original post. TWLOHA is an amazing organization that reaches out to people who struggle with things like depression, cutting, feelings of inferiority, etc. If you’ve ever seen someone walking around with the word LOVE written in Sharpie on them, it’s probably a reference to the TWLOHA movement.

3. Bring Back Our Girls. This website is a product of the more than 300 kidnappings and disappearances of girls in Nigeria over the past few days. If you didn’t know, a group called Boko Haram has kidnapped several (hundred) girls and released a video earlier this week saying they were going to sell the girls. The kidnapped another, much smaller, group of girls just a couple days ago. The Nigerian government isn’t working quite as efficiently on this as they should, Nigerians believe (and I tend to agree), and this website is more or less a petition to get people involved with rescuing these hundreds of girls.

4. Human Trafficking on the Rise, Molly Sparks (via EE). I link this article not to do a self-promotion of my article (though that is a nice little bonus) but to get people’s attention. Human trafficking, if you can’t tell, is something that I am very passionate about ending. The injustice of this ‘business’ is disgusting and very, very real. I interviewed some people at my ‘alma mater’ and was able to put together an article about what people are doing, what the issue is, and how to get involved. I have another article that should be released soon on the same issue. I hope you read it not because I want you to read my writing but because I want you to get involved with ending this, too. Tweet about it. Use the hashtag #BodiesAreNotCommodities. Tell people about it. Blog about it. Pray for everyone involved–even the people who abuse the system. DO something.

5. If My Brain Were a Person, Superwoman. So, as you probably know by now, I love YouTube. I consider it to be the best black hole on the Internets. I recently found this YouTuber through another person who I found through another person…you get it. This girl is hilarious. This video basically asks the question, ‘what if my brain were a person?’ and then answers it in a very comical way. I kind of picture my brain as a person now. It’s great.

6. 2048, iTunes. Instead of music, this week I offer you my favorite app. I have an iPhone, so I don’t know if this is available for Android/etc/etc, but if it’s not, it’s probably a good thing, because this app is ridiculously addicting. I’ve had it for roughly two days and I love it. I play it all the time. It’s a strange combination of luck and strategy. The goal is to slide and combine number tiles and create the 2048 tile. To give you an idea of how difficult this is, you start with 2’s and 4’s and have to build up from there. Check out the iTunes page for the details (and it’s free, so download it. Or don’t, if you have things like responsibilities or TV shows to catch up on).


I hope you enjoyed having a glimpse of the places I spend my time on the internet.

Have a video, blog post, or song I should listen to? Comment or tweet me!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 8, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
