RSS

Pinata Cookies.

12 May

If you recall from my Thursday Thimbles blog post, aka my weekly roundup, I gave you a video of a girl making Lego pinata cookies. They looked pretty cool, so I decided to try my hand at pinata cookies…and I think they turned out pretty well.

So I thought maybe I’d write it out and let you guys know exactly how I did it–how a girl who really can’t actually cook managed to make super cute pinata cookies.

Behold, the cookie magic in its completed form.

Behold, the cookie magic in its completed form.

THE RECIPE

I used someone else’s sugar cookie recipe (because, again, I’m not such a great cook and don’t have my own). Here’s what in it:1 teaspoon baking powder
3 cups (450grams) all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 tsp kosher salt
2 sticks (1cup, 226grams)butter, unsalted, softened to room temperature
1 cup (200grams)granulated sugar
1 large egg, room temperature
1tbl vanilla extract, vanilla bean past or almond extract

According to recipe, you mix the dry and wet ingredients separately, but I didn’t…and they turned out okay. I also didn’t add enough vanilla (I thought it said 1 teaspoon not tablespoon. oops) and they’re still tasty.

Anyways, mix them all up. I separated my dough into six little balls, since I was going to make each one a different color, and they were still pretty decently sized.

Refrigerate them for long enough that they get hard (you can dye them first, if you like, or do what I did and stick them in the fridge, then dye them, then stick them in the fridge again. either way). When they’re nice and solid, take each one and roll it out like you would if you were making Christmas cookies. In the video, the girl makes Legos, so she has rectangular cookie cutters, but because I made these on a whim last night, I used the cookie cutters I had. You need at least two; one big one and one small one of the same shape.

Cut out three of the bigger shape, then remove the excess dough. In the middle of one of the cookies, use the smaller cookie cutter and then remove the center. You should then have two solid cookies and one ‘outline’ type cookie.

You can see here my solids and outline cookies. I also decided I may as well cook the small star from the inside of my 'outline' cookies.

You can see here my solids and outline cookies. I also decided I may as well cook the small star from the inside of my ‘outline’ cookies.

Once you have them all cut out and beautiful-looking (try to get them as close to the same shape as possible, not bending of squishing them, so they’ll stack better), cook them for about seven to nine minutes. You don’t want them to rise or spread or get crunchy and hard, but you do want them done. Obviously.

Let them cool completely before you start stacking. If you don’t, the icing will melt and won’t hold them in a stack and the mini m’m’s (or whatever candy you put in the middle) will melt.

I did use M&M’s, the little ones, because that’s what the girl in the video used and they really did fit perfectly. I might make some with a different candy inside, but for now, M&M’s worked perfectly.

Once your cookies are cool, put a thin line of icing around the bottom of the ‘outline’ cookie and place it on one of the solid cookies, lining up the edges. Once that’s done, fill the middle with candies, making sure you try to keep the candy below the top of the outline cookie (so you can get the ‘top’ on).

IMG_0624

Next, put a thin line of icing on the top of your outline cookie, around the edges again, and put the top cookie on. You may need to gently push the cookie down to make sure the icing sticks, but if you rolled out the cookies flat, that shouldn’t be a problem.

Voila! Your pinata cookie is beautiful! If you want, you can stick the little center shape on top for an added layer, but that’s a lot of cookie in one place…

IMG_0626So there you are! The link to the video for visual instructions is on my previous blog post, which I linked above, so go watch that.

If you decide to make these nummy-looking cookies, I’d love to see your pinatas! Post a picture in the comments or tweet it to me (@MsparksFly).

Also, let me know if you have any corners of the web I should use for my Thursday Thimbles blog post coming up.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 12, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
