RSS

Working Mind, Restless Hands.

17 Jul

Here’s the thing about me;

I love to read. I really do. I have spent a lot of time reading in my short life so far. I read classic literature, young adult fiction, the occasional adult fiction (if it looks decently clean), and sometime non-fiction.

On New Year’s Day, I decided that I read an unhealthy amount of fiction. I made a resolution to read one non-fiction book for every three fiction books I read, and so far, I am happy to say that I have gone above and beyond my resolution and actually–wait for it–enjoy reading non-fiction.

But here’s another thing you need to know about me.

I enjoy reading a million times more when it’s a book I’ve chosen to read, and not a book that has been a) forced upon me, b) assigned to me, or c) required for something I am doing.

So the fact that my application for a missions trip requires me to read a book is causing some angst.

I know that sounds a little dumb. Gasp, something that requires Christian ethics, morals, and a strong sense of calling makes you READ something? What? I know, I know. But I would have been glad to read it had it been on a suggested reading list, or suggested by someone else as helpful for this process. Because it is basically an assignment, I am having some problems forcing myself to read it. Which makes me feel like a terrible person. TERRIBLE.

Add to that the fact that this application has a deadline and, let’s be honest, I feel like I’m back in school, except now I have a job and all that grown-up stuff to worry about.

There is something wrong with me. It’s like my brain is wired wrong.

If I really wanted to just get it done, get it out of the way, I could probably have this book completely read by tomorrow afternoon. I could have the statement of faith required upon completion of the book written by Saturday afternoon. I could be done with the whole application by next week.

But because it’s required, I don’t want to do it.

Here’s another thing you should know about me;

When I watch/read/do things, I like the activity best when I’m completely busy.

When I watch a movie, I usually have a snack and I crochet. When I work, I like it to be something that requires some sort of motion (like writing) that also requires my brain to be engaged. Because reading doesn’t give a lot of opportunities for your hands to be free (holding pages open requires hands, people), I get restless when I read something that’s not super action-packed for too long.

So, because of the nature of this required book, when I start reading, my hands get bored. I know that sounds weird, but it happens. I have actually been reading less since I picked up crocheting again because my hands get restless now. Just ask Kelly; I’ve been super productive with my crocheting this year (multiple scarves, an afghan completed and another almost done).

Can I get this in an audiobook?…

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 17, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
