RSS

Project Fall

09 Sep

Over the last couple of weeks, I’ve been trying to think about what I can post on here that will get me back in the habit of blogging. I had a couple friends give me some ideas, went through a couple other blogs to see how they handle regular posting, and then thought about how frequently I even have things worth posting on here.

I’m not going to promise any kind of regular weekly or monthly post – I’ll only disappoint – but I do want to try to post more often, and about things that I like writing about but people are also interested (as those frequently don’t overlap at all. I can be boring).

So, for this post, I wanted to share a little about what I’ve been working on, crochet-wise and in my free time. I took a pretty long hiatus from crochet because I moved and all my stuff was hidden in drawers or bags or mixed in with other things, but recently my little sister helped me organize what has basically become my craft room in my ‘new’ apartment (quotation marks because I’ve already been there for six months).

I finally have a storage system that I think will actually work set up for my miles and piles of yarn. My parents bought me this gorgeous shelf and some canvas storage bins for my 25th birthday, and the little bins are perfect for yarn.

img_3459

Once I got organized, I was ready to start crocheting again with a vengeance. My first undertaking was a Pokeball, in honor of the release of Pokemon Go’s release in July. I am slightly obsessed with the game and have spent many hours wandering around catching Pokemon and leveling up. The game also helped me get to my step goal for my job’s monthly fitness challenge, since I did a lot of walking for both things.

img_2119

Since fall is coming (hooray!), I decided to take on some fall-ish projects. My co-workers and I are having a department fundraiser for our Christmas project at work, so I volunteered to make a blanket for the sale (a horrible decision, really). Blankets take a lot of yarn and a lot of hours, and I’m afraid I won’t finish in time even though I have another two months before the fundraiser (it’s a lot of crocheting, okay?). The cool thing is that, for the first time ever, I made up my own pattern. I had used the same pattern to make my mom some cotton dishcloths, her favorite, and she really liked it, so I just expanded the stitch and kept going. Here’s the potholder and the blanket (hopefully you can tell which is which).

img_2102

img_3461

One of the girls at work just had a baby! He’s super adorable and tiny, and for the baby shower (which we haven’t had yet) I wanted to make him a stuffed animal. Since the shower and his room are elephant-themed, I found an adorable pattern for an elephant on Pinterest and just changed the color and a couple small details. I finished him on the day the baby was born! I named him Babar, after one of the greatest kids’ books. I think he’s pretty cute.

img_3460

The last thing I’m working on right now is a shawl for myself, which is coming along but not even close to being done (and, of course, I ran out of yarn last night). I’ll post a picture of that when it’s a little closer to being completed.

Anyway, that’s my adventures in the crochet world for now. As fall gets closer and Christmas starts looming, I’ll probably be crocheting a lot more to get presents made and sent. Until then, I can focus on my own projects. I’ll probably be making another hat before too long, and my friend Grace has inspired me to learn to knit so I can make a cute cabled hat or seven.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 9, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “Project Fall

  1. Grace

    September 9, 2016 at 10:18 am

    I love the elephant, its so cute! Haha, you should definitely learn how to knit! If need suggestions on videos/stuff let me know!! ❤

     
  2. Thomas Hedglen

    September 10, 2016 at 1:28 pm

    Good job, love the elephant !!

     
  3. walktheovergrownpath

    October 1, 2016 at 1:52 pm

    I love the elephant!

     

Leave a Reply

 
