RSS

Writing Time

09 Oct

As some of you may know, NaNoWriMo (NAtional NOvel WRIting MOnth) is coming up in November, and I’m starting to get more than a little nervous/worried about it.

For those of you who don’t know, NaNoWriMo is a month-long writing ‘bootcamp’ of sorts, in which thousands of people all over try to write an entire novel, or 50,000 words, in the month of November. To reach 50,000 words in the month, you have to write an average of 1,667 words a day, which is just over 3 1/2 pages, single-spaced. That’s a lot of writing every day.

I have attempted to do NaNo exactly twice, and only remember my story from the most recent attempt in 2013. I got about 12,000 words written before I simply ran out of story. It wasn’t really that I ran out of things to write on the story, per se, it was more that my novel-to-be needed research that I didn’t have time for, some character charting that I didn’t start early enough, and I had just started a new job so things were a little crazy.

I still consider 12,000 words on a single story to be a fantastic achievement, but it was by no means a ‘book’ or even really a novella. It probably would’ve staggered on for another 10,000 words or so and then petered off into abysmal, Metamorphosis-esque existence, and since I’m no Kafka, I decided to ‘kill my darlings’ and let the story go.

This year, I’ve set a slightly more realistic goal than 50,000 words. Since I’ve never written and finished a story longer than about 12 pages, I’m going to try to write a novella as my first real endeavor into authorship. So far, I have an idea, a couple of names for characters, the first half of a plot line, a couple of possible subplots, and absolutely no idea for an ending. I’m also pretty sure that everyone is already tired of me talking about writing and it’s only October, so apologies in advance.

If I tell you I can’t see you in the month of November, that’s why; I’ll be writing. I’m tired of not really feeling like a writer because I haven’t actually finished anything that resembles a hard-back book. It’s time to actually put my English degree and my knack for retaining weird facts to good use.It’s writing time.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 9, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
