Uncategorized

Thursday’s Thimbles.

Someone once told me that any amount of information you can give to someone, no matter how amazing you think it is, is a thimble of information compared to how much information there is in the world in general. That is to say, what you’re giving them may be important, but it’s not all the information ever. It’s not much more than a couple drops out of an ocean of information.

Since I am going to be sharing some of my favorite corners of the internet with you, I decided this should be called Thimble’s Thursday. (say thimbles three more times and it stops sounding like an actual word)

(Thank you @littleminky93 (aka Knitting Goddess) for helping me come up with this idea. It’s fabulous.)

I am going to give you my favorite blog posts, my favorite YouTube videos, music, and whatever else I happen to find during the week that I think you should see.

1. 700 Words, Jamie the Very Worst Missionary. I’ve talked about this blogger before, but I have seriously fallen in love with this post. It’s about human trafficking, which is an injustice that I am totally passionate about ending. The post is full of some very real emotions and is very moving. I would encourage you to read this post when you’re not in public, because real tears might be caused. Her blunt style makes this post incredible moving and I definitely learned something about the issues she addresses.

2. This One Thing Might be Keeping You From Enjoying Your Life, Allison Vesterfelt. Again, another blogger I’ve mentioned a couple times before, but this post is about something we all struggle with; waiting for the ‘next big thing’ to happen. We wait for a relationship, a vacation, a birthday, a thousand other little things. We think that our life will change as soon as we round the next corner, that the next ‘phase’ will be better. Allison asks a simple question: Why don’t we live like that ‘next big thing’ is what’s happening right now?

3. Waiting for Marriage is Hard Enough – Instagram Just Makes it Harder, The Lipstick Gospel. I stumbled across this blog completely by accident a couple days ago, and this post made me smile. It kind of goes hand-in-hand with Allison’s, in that the writer (Stephanie, I think) asks why we have to compare ourselves to others who are getting happy endings when just waiting is hard enough. This post is about relationships in particular, but I think it’s fairly applicable to every aspect of our comparison-heavy culture.

4. America’s Daughters. This is a beautiful video from the Polaris Project, which is a human trafficking awareness/prevention group. The video’s script was written and read by a trafficking victim who was rescued. I suggest watching this in a more private place, as with 700 Words, because it’s very emotional. It’s a bit like slam poetry in that the girl puts emotion and emphasis on her words and reads it like it’s lyrics to a song we all know.

5. Ghost in the Stalls, Olan Rogers. If you have never seen this video before, you are missing some of the most hilarious YouTube content of all time. Olan Rogers is an amazing storyteller and even if he does embellish a bit (which he probably does, let’s be honest), the story is one that makes me laugh every time I even think about it, let alone watch it. This will be the most hilarious 3 minutes you’ll never get back.

6.  ‘Armor’, Landon Austin. Check it out on YouTube here (apparently I’m not allowed to embed more videos). I have been a fan of Landon Austin on YouTube for a while now. Most of the content he puts up is vlogs or covers, but this is one of his originals and is amazingly catchy and smart. I love every bit of it. He puts up covers every couple of weeks and has some other original music out, as well, and vlogs every Tuesday.

Well, that’s it, guys (long list, I know; just breathe). I hope you enjoyed having a glimpse of the places I spend my time on the internet.

Have a video, blog post, or song I should listen to? Comment or tweet me!

One thought on “Thursday’s Thimbles.

Leave a comment